North American Task Force on Intersex Formed

Classification: News


FEBRUARY 23, 2000



CHERYL CHASE, ISNA (734) 994-7369

IAN AARONSON, NATFI (843) 792-4531





The North American Task Force on Intersex (NATFI) has been formed in
response to the growing debate over standards of practice for medical treatment
of intersex children. Until a few years ago, these standards were uncontroversial.
Now, however, the standards face criticism from patient advocate groups.
In addition, the story of David Reimer, published in John Colapinto's book
As Nature Made Him: The Boy Who Was Raised as a Girl, is receiving extensive
media attention.

The Task Force was formed by Ian Aaronson MD, a pediatric urologist
at the Medical University of South Carolina. Aaronson has, over the past
decades, cared for many intersex patients and is the author of chapters
on the subject in several medical textbooks.

"We are committed to learn from past mistakes in order to offer the
best advice and treatment to our patients in the future," said Aaronson.
"Long term outcome data is very sparse and selective, and this puts surgeons
on tenuous ethical grounds. I was very gratified at the positive response
from members of the professional community and the patient advocate groups
to the notion of forming a Task Force."

NATFI brings together specialists in surgery, endocrinology, psychology,
ethics, psychiatry, epidemiology, genetics, public health and representatives
of intersex patient advocate groups. With the participation of representatives
of the Intersex Society of North America and the AIS Support Group, the
Task Force is the first decision-making body on intersex medical care to
have included intersex patient advocates. "We are committed to achieving
consensus on these all-important patient care issues," said Aaronson.

The Task Force, under Aaronson's chairmanship, is expected to address
a number of issues, including 1) establishment of standards for informed
consent, 2) retrospective review of the long term psychosexual status of
patients treated for intersex, 3) establishment of guidelines for the management
of children born with ambiguous sex anatomy, 4) initiation of a prospective
registry, and 5) revision of medical nomenclature.

The Task Force, an independent and self-governing body, has been endorsed
by the American Academy of Pediatrics, the American Urological Association,
the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, the American College
of Medical Genetics, the Lawson Wilkins Pediatric Endocrine Society, the
Society for Pediatric Urology, the Society for Fetal Urology, and the Society
of Genitourinary Reconstructive Surgeons.




Ian Aaronson MD

Medical University of South Carolina

Department of Urology

Julie Barthold MD

DuPont Hospital for Children

Division of Urology

Sheri A. Berenbaum PhD

Southern Illinois University

School of Medicine, Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Michael Carr MD

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Division of Urology

Cheryl Chase

Intersex Society of North America

Sherri Groveman

Androgen Insensitivity Support Group

Melvin M Grumbach MD

University of California at San Francisco

School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics

Anne Marie Houle MD

Ste Justine Hospital

Division of Urology

Douglas Husmann MD

Mayo Clinic

Department of Urology

Julianne Imperato-McGinley MD

New York Presbyterian Hospital

Division of Endocrinology

Gerald Jordan MD

Norfolk Virginia

Suzanne Kessler PhD

State University of New York at Purchase

Division of Natural Science

Antoine Khoury MD

The Hospital for Sick Children

Division of Urology

Barry Kogan MD

Albany Medical College

Division of Urology

Thomas Kolon MD

Naval Medical Center

Department of Urology

Peter Lee MD

Milton Hershey Medical Center

Department of Pediatrics

Lawrence McCullough PhD

Baylor College of Medicine

Center of Medical Ethics and Health Policy

Patrick H. McKenna MD

Connecticut Children's Medical Center

Department of Pediatric Urology

Ilan Meyer MD

Columbia University

School of Public Health

Heino Meyer-Bahlburg PhD

Columbia University

Division of Child Psychiatry

Claude Migeon MD

Johns Hopkins Hospital

Department of Pediatric Endocrinology

Maria New MD

The New York Hospital, Cornell Med Ctr

Department of Pediatrics

William George Reiner MD

Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions

Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Alan B. Retik MD

Boston Children's Hospital

Department of Urology

Justine Schober MD

Pediatric Urology

Sharon Schwartz PhD

Columbia University

Department of Epidemiology

Linda Dairiki Shortliffe MD

Stanford University Medical Center

Department of Urology

Eric Vilain MD

UCLA School of Medicine

Department of Human Genetics

Jean D. Wilson MD

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Texas Southwestern Medical School

Selma Witchel MD

Children's Hospital of Pittsburg

Department of Endocrinology

Kenneth J. Zucker PhD

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health--Clarke Division

Child and Adolescent Gender Identity Clinic